Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum is followed by children from Hallfieldfirst to the end of their Reception year.

At Hallfield, we believe that a child’s education is a partnership between the School and home. As its title suggests, the EYFS is the foundational stage of your child’s education – and at Hallfield we will work with you to get it right.

The pupils in the Early Years Foundation Stage are taught through the seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas



Understanding the World

We’re proud of the foundation we give to every child who passes through EYFS here at Hallfield. In our most recent inspection, the Independent Schools Inspectorate confirmed that we are outstanding in all areas of the EYFS provision. You can read the report here.